EMS EDUCATION [IRRL
Date:

Thank you for your interest in the Emergency Medical
Responder (EMR) or Emergency Medical Technician
(EMT) course here at Randolph Community College. Below
is an abbreviated list of required documentation prior to
Creating Opportunities. Saving Lives. registration for a course:

Proof of membership with EMS, Fire, or law enforcement
e Department Name:

e Volunteer or Paid capacity Paid  Volunteer
Valid Driver’s License State

e Provide the state, class, and expiration date of the license: Class

e Attach a copy of the license Expiration:

High school transcript or diploma/GED (within last 5 years)
e List the year and institution name:
Reading 'comprehension sl'(ills post-secondary level (within last 5 years) EMR: 10" grade,
e C(Circle the level' specified. ' ' EMT: 11% grade
e Check the box if the completed Reading Assessment Form is 0
attached
Social Security Number (required for applying for a P-number
identifier with the North Carolina Office of EMS) -
e Provide the last 4 digits of the Social Security number
Optional:
e TIMS Course certificate or transcript L]
(check if documentation attached)

Email Address: ]

Please submit these items to the Continuing Education Office. If you have any questions, please
contact 336-633-0268.

e During the application for state certification testing, candidates must attest to their entire criminal record
for any encounter with law enforcement or the court system. An extensive North Carolina Criminal
Background Check will be performed for North Carolina residents of greater than 7 years. A federal
background check will be conducted after fingerprints are collected from candidates who have been NC
residents for less than 7 years.

O Failure to report any occurrences may be considered as providing false information and will be
either denied the opportunity to test or be further investigated by the NC OEMS Office of
Compliance and EMS Disciplinary Board. Please be aware that any offense of a sexual nature or
having been a Registered Sex Offender will disqualify any candidate applying for an EMS
credential. Other significant offenses will be investigated further before a decision on
credentialing is made by the Chief of the NC OEMS.




Randolph Community College EMS Basic Life Support Programs

Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) Student Prerequisites:
e The student must be at least 17 years of age on or before the official end date of the
course.
e Possession of a high school diploma, high school equivalency, or successful completion
of an exam assessing basic reading comprehension skills at a minimum at the tenth-grade
level.

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Student Prerequisites

17 years of age on or before the official end date of the course.

e Possession of a high school diploma, high school equivalency or successful completion
of an exam assessing basic reading comprehension skills at a minimum at the eleventh-
grade level

e Valid driver’s license (North Carolina preferred)

Admission Requirements

(Student must provide official documentation PRIOR to admission to the course)

e Proof of membership with an EMS, Fire, or law enforcement provider (fee-exempt
status)
e Valid Driver’s License — provide a copy
o NCOEMS requires candidates to be 17 years of age on or before the official end
date of the course
o Verify North Carolina address
o Students will complete a State or Nationally recognized emergency vehicle
driving program, to include a physical driving component utilizing a Type I, II, or
IIT ambulance, during the EMT course
e Social Security Number (required for applying for a P-number identifier with the North
Carolina Office of EMS, which is necessary for state certification examination. In
the absence of this, candidates would need to contact the OEMS directly for
further directions.)
e High school diploma, GED, or transcript reflecting the satisfactory completion

o EMR: if a candidate did not graduate high school of GED, he or she must be able
to show 10™ grade reading proficiency (see next bullet point)

o EMT: if a candidate did not graduate high school of GED, he or she must be able
to show 11™ grade reading proficiency (see next bullet point)

e Reading Assessment
o Those with post-secondary education will be required to provide official
transcripts in order to opt out of Assessment Tests. Degree must have been
obtained within the last 3 years. Visit the Student Success section on the website
or call 336-633-0200.



**The EMS Program does not accept the following for entrance into our programs**:

e Advanced placement
e Transfer of credits
e Experiential learning

Class Location

e All classes and labs will be conducted at the Asheboro Campus of RCC in the Robert S.
Shackleford Allied Health Building (RSS) classrooms 105 and 108 unless stated
otherwise. Computer labs will be used for exams, the Emergency Services Training
Center may be used on occasion, and off-campus locations may be utilized for specific
purposes. Notification will be given for any of those occasions.

e Clinical locations will vary throughout the area depending upon availability and student
need.

Class Times

e EMR is a total of 96 hours of didactic and lab held in the classroom setting. No field or
clinical time is required. Students must attend a minimum of 90% of the course. By this,
only 10 hours of the class can be missed, there is no make up for classes missed.

e EMT is a total of 288 hours: 240 hours being didactic and lab held in the classroom
setting. Students must attend a minimum of 90% of the course. By this, only 28 hours of
the class can be missed and there is no option for making up that time. The remaining 48
hours are observations in the clinical setting, typically in 12-hour increments, where 10
live patient encounters are required. Clinical times may vary according to site availability
and student need. Typical shift schedules are from 07:00 (7am) to 19:00 (7pm) but will
be location specific.

Class Uniform

e NCOEMS and national standards mandate that students wear a uniform that identifies
them as a student of the EMS Education program for all course functions.

e EMR students are only required to wear the classroom uniform since there are no
required clinical or field internship rotations.

e EMT students are required to complete 48 hours of clinical or field internship rotations
that have additional elements to be worn at the y
clinical sites (see clinical uniform
requirements). 0 s

e Uniform T-shirts and Polo Shirts are to be
purchased separately from the college at
our vendor, Core Graphics. They are located 4 psheiro ey & Lotk )
at 604 Hoover Street in Asheboro.

e  https://maps.app.g00.gl/JgWzSrpm7Tjcve5SA7 Heovansy e



https://maps.app.goo.gl/JqWzSrpm7Tjcve5A7

Classroom Uniform consists of:

Approved T-shirt or polo with RCC EMS logo
Dark pants (Black or navy-blue)
Closed toe shoes (boots or appropriate shoes for activities)
A white or black turtleneck style shirt may be worn under the uniform shirt (if desired)
o Ifthe RCC EMS Logo shirt is not immediately available, students may wear an
appropriately fitting T-shirt. No tight fitting, revealing, or offensive clothing is
allowed.

Clinical Uniform consists of:

College identification badge

Approved Polo with RCC EMS Logo

A white or black plain, unadorned t-shirt or turtleneck may be worn under the uniform
polo shirt (if desired)

Black Cargo style pants

Black closed toe uniform style shoes or boots (clean and polished)

Black belt

Black socks

Pre-approved high-visibility outerwear

Black or Navy-Blue Coat or Jacket may be worn along with black, white, or navy-blue
hat.

Uniform Costs:

RCC EMS uniform polo shirt (clinicals, classroom) $19.26 **at least 1 required**
RCC EMS uniform t-shirt (classroom only) $9.63 **at least 1 required**

EMS style Cargo Pants ~$35.00 and up

Black leather or nylon duty belt ~$15.00

Black EMS style uniform shoes or boots ~$50.00 and up

Black socks ~$5.00

Wristwatch or device that measures seconds (pulse) ~$5.00 and up

All weather jacket (black or navy blue) ~$50.00

Reflective traffic vest ~$15.00

Total Uniform Cost ~$203.89



Course Charges for EMR

Registration EMR $180.00 (if affiliated this fee is waived)

Accident Insurance $0.55/ policy year must be renewed

AHA Fee $42.00

Total Due at Registration $222.55 (less $180.00 if tuition exempt = $42.55)

Other Required Items not included in registration cost that must be purchased separately:
Textbook $163.66 with tax (publisher price $152.95)
Uniforms $10.70 -- RCC EMS uniform t-shirt (Core Design)

$174.36
Total cost: $396.91 ($216.91 if tuition exempt)
Required Textbook:

Emergency Medical Responder: Your First Response in Emergency Care, 7th Edition - Navigate
Essentials Access, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) ISBN:9781284230789
© 2022 496 pages (publisher price $152.95)
https://www.psglearning.com/catalog/productdetails/9781284230789

Course Charges for EMT
Registration EMT $180.00 (if affiliated this fee is waived)
Student ID: $0.50/year
Liability Insurance $16.00/ policy year must be renewed
Accident Insurance $0.55/ policy year must be renewed
AHA Fee $42.00
Resource Fee (Platinum Ed Group) $85.00 (EMS Testing $52, Platinum Planner $33)
Total Due at Registration $324.05  (less $180.00 if tuition exempt = $144.05)
Other Required Items not included in registration cost that must be purchased separately:
Textbook $185.06 with tax (publisher price $172.95)
Uniforms (shirts only) $32.10 (clinical polo for $21.40) (class T-Shirt $10.70)
(additional items) ~$175.00 (this is an estimate)
~$388.95 (this is an estimate)
Total cost: $711.00  (less $180.00 if tuition exempt = $531.00)
Required Textbooks:

Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured 12 Edition
ISBN-13: 9781284246223 (Essentials only required, Advantage and Premier are optional)

https://www.psglearning.com/catalog/productdetails/9781284246223 (publisher price $172.95)



https://www.psglearning.com/catalog/productdetails/9781284230789
https://www.psglearning.com/catalog/productdetails/9781284246223

RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE
EMT and EMR (Emergency Responder) Program

Reading Assessment Verification

Appointments are required for testing. Limited same day testing may be available.
Call (336) 633—0321 to schedule.
Appointments are available mornings and afternoons.

Location: Assessment Center (next to the greenhouses; behind the Campus Store)

Acceptable scores/courses (scores must be less than 5 years old):

EMT
Reading: CASAS (Form 907R or 908R) — score of 249 or higher
TABE 11/12 (Level D or A) — score of 617 or higher
Completion of a college-level English class with C or better
EMR
Reading: CASAS (Form 907R or 908R) — score of 244 or higher

TABE 11/12 (Level D or A) — score of 597 or higher

Completion of a college-level English class with C or better

If you intend to use scores from testing done at another school, please see the Welcome Center
to have those scores transferred officially to RCC — we cannot accept only a print-out of scores.

Take this form with you to your testing appointment.

Please ensure that someone from the Assessment Center signs this form.

Student Name

Student ID

Date

Test Type

Scores / Completed Courses

Assessment Center Signature




